Slacker Logo



A former member of Alice Cooper's band, bassist Kip Winger formed his own group in 1986; in addition to vocalist/bassist Winger, the group featured guitarist Reb Beach, bassist Paul Taylor, and drummer Rod Morgenstein, formerly of the Dixie Dregs. Taking their name from their leader after a last-minute change from Sahara, Winger specialized in the stylish pop-metal that sent Bon Jovi and Poison to the top of the charts. The band's eponymous debut sold over a million copies on the strength of the rocker "Seventeen" and the ballad "Headed for a Heartbreak." Winger's second album, 1990's In the Heart of the Young, was equally successful, selling over a million copies and featuring the hit power ballad "Miles Away." However, the band didn't outlast the post-alternative pop-metal backlash and the group faded away after the release of their 1993 album Pull. Kip Winger launched a solo career later that decade, releasing three albums before reuniting with his former bandmates in 2002. After a brief tour alongside fellow pop-metal veterans Poison, the band returned to the studio to craft their first album in more than a decade. 2006's IV stuck close to the formula that made Winger famous, and the resulting reunion tour was captured on the two-disc set Winger Live. Another album called Karma quickly followed in 2009, but the group took its time to deliver Better Days Comin', which appeared in the spring of 2014. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Hair Metal

    Hair Metal
    7 songs

    Awesome '80s

    Awesome '80s
    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Seventeen
  3.   Headed for a Heartbreak
  4.   Miles Away
  5.   Madalaine
  6.   Can't Get Enuff
  7.   Hungry
  8.   Easy Come, Easy Go
  9.   Hangin' On
  10.   Little Dirty Blonde
  11.   Down Incognito
  12.   Can't Get Enough
  13.   Junkyard Dog (Tears on Stone)
  14.   The Making of Better Days Comin'
  15.   Rainbow in the Rose
  16.   Better Days Comin'
  17.   Spell I'm Under
  18.   Rat Race
  19.   You Are the Saint, I Am the Sinner
  20.   In the Day We'll Never See
  21.   Who's the One
  22.   Right Up Ahead
  23.   Time to Surrender
  24.   Tin Soldier
  25.   Rod's Drum Solo
  26.   Hour of Need
  27.   Hell to Pay
  28.   Poison Angel
  29.   Under One Condition
  30.   Blind Revolution Mad
  31.   Another Beautiful Day
  32.   Ever Wonder
  33.   Madaline
  34.   You Are the Saint
  35.   I Am the Sinner
  36.   Silent Night
  37.   Dissapear
  38.   Reb's Guitar Solo
  39.   Happy Christmas (War Is Over)
  40.   Star Tripper
  41.   Skin Tight
  42.   Someday Someway
  43.   Only Love
  44.   Give Me More
  45.   Without Warning
  46.   Until There Was You
  47.   Blue Suede Shoes
  48.   Your Great Escape
  49.   Livin' Just To Die
  50.   Short Flight to Mexico
  51.   Generica
  52.   Can't Take It Back
  53.   State of Emergency
  54.   In My Veins
  55.   The Lucky One
  56.   In for the Kill
  57.   No Man's Land
  58.   Like a Ritual
  59.   Battle Stations
  60.   Loosen Up
  61.   Baptized by Fire
  62.   In the Heart of the Young
  63.   Purple Haze
  64.   Be Who You Are Now
  65.   Queen Babylon
  66.   Midnight Driver of a Love Machine
  67.   Junkyard Dog (Tears on Stone)
  68.   After All This Time
  69.   All I Ever Wanted
  70.   Never
  71.   Written in the Wind
  72.   Four Leaf Clover
  73.   M16
  74.   On the Inside (New Recording)
  75.   Out for the Count
  76.   Higher and Higher
  77.   On a Day Like Today
  78.   Storm in Me
  79.   So Long China
  80.   Who's the One
  81.   Like a Ritual
  82.   Pull Me Under
  83.   Feeding Frenzy
  84.   Big World Away
  85.   Disappear
  86.   Supernova
  87.   Come a Little Closer
  88.   Out of This World
  89.   Witness
  90.   First Ending
  91.   Deal with the Devil
  92.   In the Heart of the Young [LP Version] [LP
  93.   Stone Cold Killer
  94.   Without the Night
  95.   [CD-Rom Track]
  96.   Always Within Me
  97.   One a Day Like Today