Slacker Logo


Wye Oak

Wye Oak, a Baltimore-based indie rock duo comprising Jenn Wasner (guitar, vocals) and Andy Stack (drums, keyboards, vocals), took their name from a symbolic 460-year-old tree in their home state of Maryland. Formed in 2006 under the moniker Monarch, Wasner and Stack recorded their first album in varied spots, bouncing around various basements and apartments, eventually landing a record deal with indie heavyweight Merge. The label would go on to release the act's 2008 debut, If Children, as well as the 2009 follow-up Knot and 2010 EP My Neighbor/My Creator. By the time of their 2011 self-produced album, Civilian, which was also released by Merge, Wasner and Stack had refined their sound to a fine point and had gained a devoted following. After the record's release, the duo embarked on a lengthy tour that left them completely spent and in need of a break. Once finished with their obligations, Stack relocated to Texas and Wasner launched two new projects, the more experimental Flock of Dimes and the electronic R&B duo Dungeonesse with songwriter/producer Jon Ehrens. When the time came to get back to Wye Oak, Wasner switched from guitar to bass, feeling that they had exhausted their previous guitar-based approach. Relying more on synths and drum machines and adding in some R&B influences in place of folk, their fourth album, Shriek, was recorded at the Rare Book Room with Nicolas Vernhes and released by Merge in April of 2014. After the album's release, Wasner stayed busy providing guest vocals on albums by Mac McCaughan, Soft Pink Truth and Shearwater, while also readying the first Flock of Dimes album, which was issued by Partisan Records in late 2016. A few months before that the band and Merge dug into the archives and uncovered some songs that were written and recorded between the time of Civilian and Shriek. Titled Tween, the eight-song collection showed some behind-the-scenes footage of the band's creative shift that occurred during that time span. ~ James Christopher Monger
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Wye Oak

Albums by
Wye Oak

Top Songs by
Wye Oak

  1.   Song
  2.   Holy Holy
  3.   Civilian
  4.   Two Small Deaths
  5.   Fish
  6.   For Prayer
  7.   Better (For Esther)
  8.   Please Concrete
  9.   Strangers
  10.   Mother
  11.   Logic of Color
  12.   On Luxury
  13.   I Don't Feel Young
  14.   Watching the Waiting
  15.   Sick Talk
  16.   Hot as Day
  17.   Doubt
  18.   A Lawn to Mow
  19.   My Creator
  20.   Warning
  21.   Talking About Money
  22.   If Children Were Wishes
  23.   Despicable Animal
  24.   Glory
  25.   The Tower
  26.   Shriek
  27.   My Neighbor
  28.   Emmylou
  29.   That I Do
  30.   Take It In
  31.   Sight, Flight
  32.   Siamese
  33.   Obituary
  34.   Out of Nowhere
  35.   Regret
  36.   Keeping Company
  37.   We Were Wealth
  38.   Dogs Eyes
  39.   Too Right
  40.   No Dreaming
  41.   If You Should See
  42.   I Know the Law
  43.   Paradise
  44.   The Alter
  45.   Plains
  46.   I Hope You Die
  47.   Orchard Fair
  48.   Milk and Honey
  49.   I Want for Nothing
  50.   Trigger Finger
  51.   Tattoo
  52.   Before
  53.   Archaic Smile
  54.   Schools of Eyes
  55.   Mary is Mary
  56.   Family Glue

Artists Related to Wye Oak

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |