Slacker Logo


Young the Giant

Formerly known as the Jakes, Young the Giant began making eclectic indie rock in Irvine, California, where bandmates Sameer Gadhia (vocals), Jacob Tilley (guitar), Eric Cannata (guitar), Payam Doostzadeh (bass), and François Comtois (drummer) all met each other during high school. Following graduation, the guys ditched their respective bands and formed their own outfit, drawing upon their European and Middle Eastern roots to forge a worldly, summery sound. Although the boys left Orange County shortly thereafter to attend different colleges, they continued making music together, eventually deciding to put school on hold and focus on the group instead. The decision wasn't in vain; by early 2009, they were opening for Kings of Leon and playing shows at South by Southwest. Several months later, they were signed to Roadrunner Records. The Jakes changed their name in January 2010 and began working on an album with producer Joe Chiccarelli, tracking most of the songs at Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles. Featuring cameos by My Morning Jacket's Bo Koster and Jellyfish's Roger Manning, the self-titled debut was released digitally later that year. Worldwide promotion of the album continued well into 2011, as it took until the summer to make it physically available in most territories. Numerous TV appearances -- most notably a performance on the MTV Video Music Awards show -- helped to propel the album and accompanying single "My Body" into the U.S., U.K., Dutch, and Italian charts. Sessions for a second full-length began with producer Justin Meldal-Johnsen in summer 2013. The resulting album, the heavier Mind Over Matter, arrived in January 2014. The album fared well enough to reach number seven on Billboard's Top 200, and Young the Giant toured heavily in support of it over the following two years. In April 2016, they debuted the lead single "Amerika," which appeared on their third effort, Home of the Strange. ~ Andrew Leahey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Young the Giant

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    6 songs

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    6 songs

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    6 songs

    Alternative Party

    Alternative Party
    4 songs

    Top Indie

    3 songs

    Indie Party

    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    3 songs

Albums by
Young the Giant

Top Songs by
Young the Giant

  1.   Song
  2.   Cough Syrup
  3.   My Body
  4.   Apartment
  5.   Something to Believe In
  6.   Guns Out
  7.   Mind Over Matter
  8.   Silvertongue
  9.   Crystallized
  10.   It's About Time
  11.   Amerika
  12.   I Got
  13.   Teachers
  14.   St. Walker
  15.   Strings
  16.   Nothing's Over
  17.   Mr. Know-It-All
  18.   Jungle Youth
  19.   Titus Was Born
  20.   Firelight
  21.   Daydreamer
  22.   Home of the Strange
  23.   Elsewhere
  24.   Waves
  25.   Garands
  26.   Repeat
  27.   Paralysis
  28.   In My Home
  29.   Anagram
  30.   Typhoon
  31.   Every Little Thing
  32.   Your Side
  33.   Islands
  34.   God Made Man
  35.   12 Fingers
  36.   Camera
  37.   Eros
  38.   Art Exhibit

Artists Related to Young the Giant

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |