Slacker Logo


The Zutons

The Zutons were formed in Liverpool, England, in the spring of 2002 by singer/guitarist David McCabe, lead guitarist Boyan Chowdhury, bassist Russell Pritchard, and drummer Sean Payne, with saxophonist Abi Harding joining later. The group was taken up by the Deltasonic label, the same company responsible for the Coral, and released its debut single, "Devil's Deal," in September 2002, followed by "Creepin' an' a Crawlin'" in May 2003. The band then began working on its debut album, produced by Ian Broudie (also the Coral's producer), with a new single, "Pressure Point," appearing in January 2003. Who Killed...... The Zutons went gold and was nominated for a Mercury Prize upon its release in the U.K. in April 2004, and further singles "You Will You Won't" (April 2004) and "Remember Me" (June 2004) were released. The album was issued in the U.S. on Epic Records in October 2004 with an added song, "Don't Ever Think (Too Much)," just after the Zutons had toured America opening for the Thrills. Released as a single in the U.K., "Don't Ever Think (Too Much)" reached the Top 20, the Zutons' most successful showing yet. The band returned to the U.S. for more touring in November. December 2004 saw the release of another Zutons single in the U.K., "Confusion," while "Pressure Point" was being used in a Levi's ad in the U.S. In 2006, they released their second studio album, Tired of Hanging Around. It reached number two in the U.K. album chart and spawned the singles "Why Don’t You Give Me Your Love?" and "Valerie." The latter was subsequently covered by Mark Ronson, featuring Amy Winehouse on vocals, and was a substantial hit in 2007. During the same year, bassist Boyan Chowdhury left the group, citing "musical differences." Chowdhury's replacement was former Skylarks member Paul Molloy, and in 2008 the band released its third studio album, You Can Do Anything. The first single released was "Always Right Behind You." Unfortunately, they were dropped by Sony BMG during winter 2008. In 2009, Russell Pritchard joined Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
The Zutons

Albums by
The Zutons

Top Songs by
The Zutons

  1.   Song
  2.   Valerie
  3.   Beautiful
  4.   It's the Little Things We Do
  5.   Harder and Harder
  6.   Put a Little Aside
  7.   Bobby's Song
  8.   Pressure Point
  9.   Freak
  10.   What's Your Problem
  11.   Always Right Behind You
  12.   Why Won't You Give Me Your Love?
  13.   How Does It Feel?
  14.   Secrets
  15.   Dirty Dancehall
  16.   Remember Me
  17.   Not a Lot to Do
  18.   Zuton Fever
  19.   What's My Heart For
  20.   April Fool
  21.   Don't Get Caught
  22.   Don't Ever Think (Too Much)
  23.   Long Time Coming
  24.   Confusion
  25.   Rumblin' Ramblin'
  26.   Are We Friends or Lovers
  27.   Oh Stacey (Look What You've Done!)
  28.   Havana Gang Brawl
  29.   Little Red Door
  30.   You've Got a Friend in Me
  31.   Let's Work It Out
  32.   Nightmare, Pt. 2
  33.   Some Say It's Wise
  34.   Hello Conscience
  35.   You Could Make the Four Walls Cry
  36.   Railroad
  37.   You Will You Won't
  38.   I Know I'll Never Leave
  39.   Creepin' an' a Crawlin'
  40.   Bumbag
  41.   Moons & Horror Shows
  42.   Tired of Hanging Around
  43.   Dirty Rat
  44.   Family of Leeches
  45.   Someone Watching Over Me
  46.   Beggars and Choosers
  47.   You've Got to Move
  48.   That's the Cost
  49.   Give Me a Reason
  50.   Nobody Loves Me
  51.   Times of Trouble
  52.   Nightmare, Pt. I
  53.   Zutonhkhamuun
  54.   Devil's Deal
  55.   Six Foot Man
  56.   Zutonkhamuun
  57.   Pull the Plug
  58.   Nightmare, Part Il
  59.   Get Up and Dance
  60.   I Will Be Your Pockets
  61.   Have I Lost You?
  62.   I Want You
  63.   In the City
  64.   Sometimes I'm So Polite
  65.   Love's Little Lies
  66.   Higher & Higher (Radio Session)
  67.   As We Get Older
  68.   Nightmare

Artists Related to The Zutons

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |