Slacker Logo

Dancing with the Lion [Bonus Tracks]



After the Grammy-winning 1987 effort Down to the Moon, Andreas Vollenweider returned with Dancing with the Lion, a concept album of sorts about the nature of life and death. For the first time, Vollenweider extended his creative palette, drawing on the talents of many musicians worldwide. His modified harp was still in full effect, but Lion matched its unique tone with touches of electric guitar (the light, Latin-influenced pop of "Dance of the Masks"), plaintive violin ("See, My Love"), and the ambitious title track, which mixed unique percussion and vocal elements into a surprisingly straightforward pop cocktail. While the composer's early work seemed to be more about relaxation, or where the music could take the listener, Dancing with the Lion seemed to encourage contemplation. It was easy to find solace in the Asian-inflected chording of "Hippolyte," or the album's atmospheric finale, where flutes, flamenco guitar, fiddle, and chimes combined with the harp in an approximation of that famous story about the white light at the end of the tunnel. The addition of so many extra instruments into Vollenweider's already widely scanning style worked to expand his ideology as much as it did his sound, since the range of ethnic styles represented unified his music with so many locales. Dancing with the Lion was a textured, pensive release that suggested Vollenweider's later work with an international cast of like-minded musicians and symphonies. [This version of the album contains bonus material.] ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Unto the Burning Circle Andreas Vollenweider 3:49
  3. 2 Dancing with the Lion Andreas Vollenweider 4:0
  4. 3 Hippolyte Andreas Vollenweider 1:11
  5. 4 Dance of the Masks Andreas Vollenweider 5:51
  6. 5 Pearls & Tears Andreas Vollenweider 5:14
  7. 6 Garden of My Childhood Andreas Vollenweider 1:47
  8. 7 Still Life Andreas Vollenweider 5:37
  9. 8 And the Long Shadows Andreas Vollenweider 3:40
  10. 9 See, My Love... Andreas Vollenweider 3:2
  11. 10 Silver Dew, Golden Grass Andreas Vollenweider 0:59
  12. 11 Ascent from the Circle Andreas Vollenweider 4:19
  13. 12 Ouvertürli Andreas Vollenweider 3:7
  14. 13 First Piece Andreas Vollenweider 4:10
  15. 14 Hey You! Yes, You... Andreas Vollenweider 3:12
  16. 15 Pearls and Tears/Dancing with the Lion/The Lion /Introducing Vox Andreas Vollenweider null:null

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |