Slacker Logo

Visionary: The Ultimate Narada Collection

David Arkenstone 12/9/2002


David Arkenstone's career has been a long and unusual one. On one hand, he makes new age music that takes influence from composers like John Williams, Brian Eno, and Tangerine Dream. On the other hand, most of his songs are highly based in fantasy and science fiction, taking their inspiration from the works of Mercedes Lackey and J.R.R. Tolkien. It is this bizarre mishmash of influences that produces some of the most recognized and respected instrumentals of the '80s and '90s. The album is programmed quite nicely, taking the listener on a sonic journey through Arkenstone's career by attempting to capture certain moods and styles from song to song. The transitions are flawless, leaving the listener without any tracks to skip through or slow moments. Arkenstone's compositions are quite beautiful, moving slowly with lush keyboards, ringing guitar, sparse percussion, and the occasional lone female vocal haunting the background. While most composers of this kind tend to overindulge or make music so ambient that it loses the listener, Arkenstone makes music that is subtly engaging. The strong melodies and gorgeous flourishes are hidden right below the surface, so it is easy to both actively listen to his music and zone out to it. Either way, this collection is a beautiful representation of a career that has lasted for years based on strong, influential new age music. ~ Bradley Torreano
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Papillon David Arkenstone 5:16
  3. 2 The Magic Forest David Arkenstone 5:22
  4. 3 Night Wind David Arkenstone 3:45
  5. 4 City in the Clouds David Arkenstone 6:22
  6. 5 The Great Wall David Arkenstone 4:41
  7. 6 Under the Canopy David Arkenstone 4:18
  8. 7 A Thousand Small Gold Bells David Arkenstone 6:4
  9. 8 Heartfire David Arkenstone 3:19
  10. 9 Dark Dunes David Arkenstone 3:10
  11. 10 Rendezvous David Arkenstone 5:27
  12. 11 The North Wind David Arkenstone 6:36
  13. 12 Ride into Midnight David Arkenstone 6:41
  14. 1 The Journey Begins David Arkenstone 5:18
  15. 2 Chosen Voices David Arkenstone 6:25
  16. 3 Ballet David Arkenstone 4:5
  17. 4 Ancient Legend David Arkenstone 3:54
  18. 5 Inshallah David Arkenstone 5:58
  19. 6 Trail of Tears David Arkenstone 4:57
  20. 7 Voices of the Anasazi David Arkenstone 4:40
  21. 8 Another Star in the Sky David Arkenstone 4:47
  22. 9 Dance in the Desert David Arkenstone 6:1
  23. 10 The Temple of Vaal David Arkenstone 5:33
  24. 11 Valley in the Clouds David Arkenstone 3:30
  25. 12 Desert Ride David Arkenstone 4:6
  26. 13 The Southern Cross David Arkenstone 5:14

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |